Why I Suck at Relationships – part 2 of 7

I Dislike Dealing With Emotions / Feelings

The most frustrating thing about emotions and feelings is how much they knock you off your guard. I say this from experience and not once or twice but more than thrice.

One of my significantly defining character traits is being in control at all times. I get extremely uncomfortable when I am not in control. Being in control keeps me calm and grounded allowing me to think without obstruction.

dealing-with-emotions

Emotions and feelings have over time been factors that made me lose control. And when I lose control, I panic because I am in unfamiliar territory and when I panic, I become irrational. Which as a matter of fact, is where all my relationship problems begin – my irrationality.

Knowing this flaw about my character has bred that “in control” trait that keeps me sane.

Not to be an “ass” about it, I know I cannot always be in control but when I can, I am. When I can’t, I accept it and work with that disadvantage maintaining my calm nonetheless.

How This Is Bad For My Relationships?

This discomfort that grew into a dislike for emotions and feelings, has made me impartial to certain situations where I need to let my feeling show. This however, does not happen all the time. I actually let my emotions show a lot of times, I never deny myself the feeling of enjoying a moment.

inside-out-meet-your-emotions-3

I just don’t let my emotions and feelings sit at the table when a decision needs to be made. I let logic, reason and facts take the lead. No matter what, I never let my feelings or emotions decide what I do next.

This is another thing that frustrates the women am involved with. It makes it seem like I don’t care, I am not interested or whatever they just did to elicit an expected emotion wasn’t good enough. It makes them feel like I am hard to please or I simply don’t appreciate the effort they put in.

But I do, I appreciate them, their effort and especially for tolerating me, I just show it differently. This conflict in what level of emotion they expect from me is a problem, one I have tweaked along the many failed relationships to manage better.

Leave a Reply

