Can I Tell You A Story? Chivalry Ain’t Dead

I was at a new restaurant on my office building recently, and this lady seated across from me kept stealing glances my way. I get curious fast, really fast. And when I get curious my mind and I become mischievous.

She was beautiful. In fact so beautiful she was the type that was definitely someone’s wife. (Shouts out to you Sir, whoever you are. Excellent choice)

I did not pay enough attention to notice a wedding ring but her big handbag, her low cut jeans and flat shoes seemed to suggest that she was indeed a wife.

As I wait for my food, she keeps looking my way and whenever I caught her looking, she’d smile and look away. I got really curious now.

Not wanting to look behind to see if she was flirting with someone else, I deployed the mighty power of my trusted FBIFront Camera To Look Behind Me Intelligence; in case you are wondering, the initials for the other words are silent, only FBI are pronounced.

And there was no one behind me but the door. Clearly she was trying to start something with me. So the boys from upstairs (read brain) and i decided we should have a little fun.

I called the waitress and asked for a piece of paper and pencil. I waited for my takeaway to be brought, scribbled a few words on the note and gave it to the waitress to give it to her.

As soon as she dropped it before her, I stood up and left the restaurant.

*

The End

*

“Wait!!!!!!!!!!!” – Shouts a disappointed reader.

Me: “Okay, what?”

Disappointed Reader: What did you write in the note?

I wrote, “WHEN YOU GET HOME TODAY, DOWNLOAD & LISTEN TO A SONG TITLED YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL BY BRITISH SINGER JAMES BLUNT. THE TITLE VERY MUCH DESCRIBES YOU. 😉”

One thought on “Can I Tell You A Story? Chivalry Ain’t Dead

  1. Pre-read comment: Love the title… I live for stories that feel me with hope like *Chivalry ain’t dead*, especially since people are rarely open to seeing such truths because they have lost hope… #NowReading.

    Post-read comment: So I wouldn’t describe it as chivalry, but in my first year I had an amazing lecturer who inspired me to look for magic/beauty in the world and also participate in creating magic for random people to find. That note was magic. Part of me wishes you didn’t make it such a *missed connection*. but I’ve learnt I can’t have everything I want in this life #tears… but by lessons end I realised its a good thing. Smiles from random acts like this are priceless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

