GOOD OLD DAYS

People that know me especially my very close friends often say that I am emotionless. Even one of my best friends (a she) sometimes calls me that. I’d really love to contend that but who am I kidding! It is probably true. Therefore it was a daze to myself when I watched the Series finale of the American series “The Office” and it almost sent me watery-eyed.

A remarkable quote from the movie was something Ed Helms said; “I WISH THERE WAS A WAY TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS BEFORE YOU’VE ACTUALLY LEFT THEM.” It had me thinking over it hours after I had heard him say those words and when it finally made vivid sense, I decided to write something about it so that I never forget it and so that I share something and we all learn from it.

Your life is by default subject to change. This change is wanted and other times it is totally undesirable. The moment we learn, understand and get comfortable with the fact that we are subject to change and there is nothing we can do to prevent that, that right there my friends! Is the moment we all begin to live.

No matter how mapped out your life can be, you will never be sure that the situation you are in is lasting. God is such a brilliant creator he denied us the power to see the future otherwise a lot of us would be doing some magically dumb sh*t. With that you can never be sure that the situation you are in is the worst or the best you’ll ever be in. And what does that tell us?

Live every moment. Live the hell out of every moment. Whether it’s sad or overly joyous, do not deprive yourself of the experience, just live the hell out of the moment. Things could get better or worse, do not gamble with that moment, you don’t want to save that regret chip for the future. You are not sure that your saddest moment will be your saddest and vice versa. A time may come when you look at what was your saddest moment as one of your best moments in life – your situation could continue to get worse! Those could be the GOOD OLD DAYS. Your best moment could be the worst considering what the future holds for you.

What I am saying here is, let’s not give regret a shot. Let’s live every moment and enjoy it as it could be the GOOD OLD DAYS. Once we live through them and we make the most of them, looking back at the GOOD OLD DAYS, it will be gratifying and not with regret and deep concern.

My grandfather once told me that regret is the worst feeling, let’s not let that describe the GOOD OLD DAYS. “I WISH THERE WAS A WAY TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS BEFORE YOU’VE ACTUALLY LEFT THEM,” well, there is a way, live the hell out of today so that tomorrow yesterday is the GOOD OLD DAYS that make you proud you lived them.

Ian Paul Byamugisha.

3 thoughts on “GOOD OLD DAYS

  1. “What am I saying here is”…..Hahaha, I laugh at my friends. Cause I make those same mistakes. But great piece. I love the reference quote.

    Like

  2. “What am I saying here is”…..Hahaha, I laugh at my friends. Cause I make those same mistakes. But great piece. I love the reference quote. Quote me well …I didn’t that’s what u wrote. That’s what I read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

