The Riddle of Her Eyes

image

But they are just eyes!
So why do I gaze into them that deep
Every time she’s seated right in front of me.

She is beautiful – that’s peerless,
But there is something about her eyes
That makes me stare like I could see beyond what I am meant to see.

But they are just eyes!
They are that salient feature on her undeniably beautiful face.
Without intention they are always soliciting for attention.

What do I mean every time I tell her she has beautiful eyes?
I try to use one word that comes close to explaining the inexplicable attractiveness that is her eyes.

But they are just eyes!
Only that they complement her more than any words I could ever say.
Her world must be a beautiful world seeing everything through those beautiful eyes.

But they are still just eyes! Or are they?
What are they trying to say?
If it’s beauty they are preaching then it’s no riddle – that beauty I know of.

Then what?
Why the unruly urge to congratulate her upon their beauty every time she’s
Pleasantly placed before me???

But they are just eyes!

Ian Paul Byamugisha

Leave a Reply

